Speaking of setting up a Non-Profit Organisation, the word ‘Charity’ usually pops up in the conversation. Many of our clients get confused between these two terms. Read on this blog to understand more. 
 

A NPO can serve different purposes, like sharing interests, arranging social gatherings, or even targeting to serve the local community.

 

What Exactly Is NPO?

Non-Profit Organisation (NPO) is generally an organisation that is created not to attain monetary achievement, which means their ultimate purpose is NOT to generate additional revenue. NPO can serve many different purposes, some for recreational interests, some for networking and some for community purpose.
 
In HK, there are 2 mainstreams of NPO.
 
A) Limited by Guarantee: It needs to be registered through HK Companies Registry & Inland Revenue Department (IRD). This type of entity is mainly for recreational purpose or socialising purpose. 
 
B) Charitable Organisation: It is also needed to be registered through HK Companies Registry & Inland Revenue Department, with the aim that is exclusively charitable. In general, our team would help the client set up the Limited by Guarantee first, and then apply for the Charity status through the Inland Revenue Department. The purposes must be served under the following 4 categories -
 
1) Relief of poverty
2) Advancement of education
3) Advancement of religion
4) Other purposes of charitable nature that serve and are beneficial to the HK Community
 

Why Would You Want to Set up a NPO?

Having a NPO is more like treating a hobby seriously, something you always wish to do but have no idea where to start with. Think of having a profitable organisation is like the need for reputation and achievement, while having a non-profit is to fulfill the needs for affiliation and networking. One way or another, you would want one of them or maybe both.
 
Now you see a NPO includes all sorts of organisation that does not look for monetary outcome but it could be as simple as practicing something that you are really interested in with a group of like-minded people and taking it into the next stage, to spread it out; or just doing good for the community without any profits in return (of course you can still collect fees from your members just that all revenues will be used for the organisation’s expenses). 
 

FAQs on Establishing a NPO

>> Can Every Company Secretary Service Provider Help to Set up a NPO?
Yes, a normal company secretary service provider can help in forming a NPO, yet they might lack such experience in dealing with different kinds of NPO. Therefore, it's safer to seek assistance from a service provider which specialises in NPO set up like the BRIDGES team.   
 
>> Can Every NPO Be Tax Exempted?
Not really, as setting up the Charitable Organisation needs to go through an application process of tax exemption, and after getting the approval from the IRD, the charitable status can then be granted and you can start to receive donations. 
 
>> Can Every NPO Accept Donations?
Not every NPO can accept donations, only Charitable Organisation can accept donations from the public.
 
>> What Happen If I Still Have a Bunch of Questions?
BRIDGES can provide you with a FREE professional consultation session on NPO setup, thus your queries can be addressed and cleared with our preceding case studies and experience sharing. Email info@bridges.hk to arrange an appointment.
Read All
CHECK PACKAGES CHAT WITH US

Many people have heard of ‘Limited by Shares’, which is a Private Limited Company, for which there would be director and shareholder in the structure. But here you may ask: “What is a ‘Limited by Guarantee’?” Actually, you might be more familiar with Non-Profit Organisation (NPO), which is the more common name of ‘Limited by Guarantee’, having no shareholder in the structure - only director and member instead. Get a better understanding with a clear comparison chart below :
 

Contribution Type

For Limited by Guarantee: Every guarantor has to contribute the same and fixed amount of guarantee if the company is going to be dissolved. Just like when you are joining some sort of clubs and you have to hand in certain amount of membership fees.

For Limited by Shares: Every shareholder has to invest a certain amount of share capital. The capital amount depends on how much he/she is willing to invest or how much the number of shares the board allows him/her to buy. The share capital has to be invested during the initial formation and it can be increased in time if the board decides to do so.

 

Popular FAQs of the TWO Entities

>> Can We Transform from Limited by Shares to Limited by Guarantee?

No, you CANNOT switch from one entity to another since they serve completely different purposes. In that case, you will need to set up a new Limited by Guarantee entity.

 

>> What Should I Do If I Want to Set up a Charity?

You will need to set up a Limited by Guarantee (NPO) first. While setting up the Limited by Guarantee, you will have to provide a proposal on the objective and a 1 year upcoming plan of this Charity, and submit to us for further review. After the Limited by Guarantee has been formed, you can file your tax exemption application, for which we will assist in applying for such tax exemption under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance via the IRD. After the Charity status is approved, you may or may not wish to remove your company suffix ‘Limited’ - if you prefer to do so, our experienced team can handle such application to the IRD for you by taking care of all paperwork.

 

>> Do I Have to Prepare Any Annual Filing for Limited by Guarantee?

Yes, you must submit Annual Return to update the Government if there are any changes on director and member information, just like any other Limited by Shares. Profit Tax Return would also be needed to file along with the audited financial statement.

 

>> Please Give Me Some Examples of Limited by Guarantee & Limited by Shares?

  • Limited by Guarantee: Sports Association, Recreational Club, Student Union, etc.
       
  • Limited by Shares: Trading Company, IT Consulting Agency, Property Sales Agency, etc.

 

If you have any further questions on these 2 types of incorporation, please feel free to email our Start-up Advisor Team at info@bridges.hk to know more of our advice. 

Read All
CHECK PACKAGES CHAT WITH US

Have you ever thought about how a Company Signage could enhance your business image? Or did you know directory signage could help facilitate your official business applications to the government authorities? After reading this blog, you may just be surprised at how this simple tool does great things for your business!
 

 

Strengthen Company Image

Company signage sets at the entrance of a premier business centre or building in HK could be one of the keys to outrun your competitor. Imagine if you want to acquire a service, when you arrive the building there is nowhere showing where the office is, you will probably turn away, and a business opportunity is slipped away.

Or if you are about to engage in business with another start-up company, they gave you an address so you went up for a visit and tried to look into the directory signage, but the company name is nowhere to be seen. Doesn't it look undependable? In the past years we have seen many visitors stand in front of the directory signage board for a while and they left without a word. Not only does company signage present your services and products, but also helps customers to decide what you are providing is for them or not, especially if you are a foreign entrepreneur and people are new to your name. It is also a guiding tool for your business to people.

 

Leverage Practical Functionality

When submitting applications to government departments or financial institutions, they always require a registered corporate correspondence address that proves your business presence in HK. Thus, your company directory signage will serve as a good proof in such applications like business license application, HK working visa application, bank account opening, etc.

A survey from FedEx once found during parcels or products delivery, people may get confused or even returned from the location when the company signage is omitted at the entrance, and eventually it cannot be sure whether the products are delivered to the right address. Therefore the reason why people registered for company signage is not for maintaining their company image only but also trying to serve the basic and practical purposes such as ensuring they can send out as well as receive their business materials accurately and efficiently. A proper company signage at the entrance can easily project a good presence to represent the company and people are then able to locate it quickly.

At BRIDGES, you can get your company directory signage at our office for HK$1,800 per annum, which means it’s just HK$150 (US$21) per month only!

Read All
VIRTUAL OFFICE PACKAGE HAVE A QUESTION?
Close Open

当人们谈论成立非牟利组织,通常会引伸到「慈善机构」一词。我们不少客户会混淆兩者。从这篇网志中深入了解!

 

A NPO can serve different purposes, like sharing interests, arranging social gatherings, or even targeting to serve the local community.

 

非牟利组织是甚麽?

非牟利组织( NPO)成立的目的一般不是为了牟利,最终目标并非创造更多收入。 NPO 可以有不同宗旨,部份是为了满足如运动或嗜好等休闲活动,部份为了进行如交际活动,也有部份是为了服务社区。

 
香港有2类的主流NPO -
 
A) 担保有限公司:这种NPO需透过香港公司注册处和税务局进行注册。此类企业实体主要是为了康乐或社交而设。
 
B) 慈善组织:这种NPO也需要透过香港公司注册处和税务局进行注册,完全为了慈善目的而设。我们可以协助客户先成立担保有限公司,然後透过税务局申请慈善资格。其目的必须符合以下四类之一。
 
一) 扶贫
二) 提升教育程度
三) 推动宗教活动
四) 其他能服务香港社区并对其有裨益的慈善目的
 

为何您要成立非牟利组织?

当您成立非牟利组织,就像是认真看待一个嗜好,或者实现一个您一直希望达成却无从入手的大计。成立一个牟利组织是对名誉和成就的追求,而成立非牟利组织则是为了满足联谊和社交需要。您可能只会二选其一,或希望两者兼备。
 
现在,您知道非牟利组织包括各种不追求利润的组织,它的成立目的非常简单,例如和一群志同道合的朋友练习并推广一些您感兴趣的事情;或纯粹为服务社区,而不期望赚取任何回报(您当然可以向会员收取会费,但所有收入均会用於组织的开支)。 
 

成立NPO的常见问题

>>每间公司秘书服务供应商都可以协助成立NPO吗?
可以,一般的公司秘书服务供应商都可协助您成立NPO,但在处理NPO事务前,你要确保他们有相关经验。协桥拥有多年处理不同个案的经验,累积丰厚专业知识,能以最可靠的方式助您成立NPO。
 
>>每间NPO都可以免税吗?
不一定,因为成立慈善组织需要申请免税。获得税务局批准後,才能获授予慈善团体的资格,然後才可以开始接受捐款。 
 
>>NPO能接受捐款?
并非每间NPO都能接受捐款,只有慈善组织才能接受公众捐款。
 
>>如果我还有很多疑问,该怎麽办?
协桥能为您提供成立NPO的免费专业谘询,我们乐於分享过往的个案经验,解答您的疑问。欢迎随时发送电邮至info@bridges.hk,预约会面。
阅读全部
查看服务计划 与我们对话

很多人都知道「股份有限公司」即是私人有限公司,在这种公司结构中设有董事和股东。但您可能会问:「甚麽是『担保有限公司』?」其实您可能更熟悉非牟利组织(NPO),这是「担保有限公司」更常见的名称,而其公司结构中没有股东,只有董事和成员。以下图表能清楚比较两者的区别:

 

贡献类别」(Contribution Type):

担保有限公司:如公司面临解散,每名担保人必须贡献相同而固定的担保金额。正如您加入一个俱乐部,您必须缴交一定金额的会员费.

股份有限公司:每个股东都必须投资一定数量的股本。资本金额取决於股东愿意投资的金额,或董事会允许其购买的股份数量。股本必须在公司形成阶段进行投资。若董事会允许,股本数量可以随时间递增。

 

两种企业实体的常见问题

>>股份有限公司可否转型为担保有限公司?

不可以。您不能在这两种企业实体间转换,因为两者的目的截然不同。如果您想把公司实体转换成慈善机构,您需要成立一间新的担保有限公司。

>>如果我想成立一个慈善机构,应怎麽做?

您首先需要成立一间担保有限公司(NPO)。成立担保有限公司时,您必须提供一份此慈善机构的宗旨和未来一年的计划书,以供我们进一步审阅。在担保有限公司成立後,您可递交免税申请。我们将根据税务条例第88条协助您向税务局申请免税。慈善机构的资格获批核後,您可选择删除公司名称中的「有限」字词。我们经验丰富的团队可为您处理向税务局申请的所有文件。

>>我是否需要为担保有限公司准备任何周年申报?

是的,与所有股份有限公司一样,如果董事和成员资料有任何变化,您必须提交周年申报表通知政府。您也需要一并提交利得税报税表与经审计的财务报表。

>>担保有限公司和股份有限公司有甚麽例子?

• 担保有限公司 体育协会丶康乐俱乐部丶学生组织等。
• 股份有限公司: 贸易公司丶资讯科技谘询机构丶物业销售代理等。

如果您对这两种公司成立有其他疑问,请随时电邮至info@bridges.hk与我们的公司成立顾问团队联络。

阅读全部
查看服务计划 与我们对话

您可曾想过公司指示牌能提升您的企业形象?您又是否知道,一块名称指示牌有助加快您向政府部门申请正式商业牌照的进度?您读过这篇网志後,或会惊讶这麽简单的小工具竟对业务大有裨益!

 

提升公司形象

一个设置在香港尊尚商务中心,或大楼入口的公司指示牌可以是超越竞争对手的关键之一。 试想一下,如果您想获得某项服务,但当您来到该公司所在的大厦,却没有看到显示该公司位置的指示牌,您可能会转身离开,一个商机很可能就这样溜走。

另一种情况是,如果您打算与另一间初创公司进行业务合作,他们给了您一个地址,但当您前去造访并尝试查看名称指示牌时,却找不到这间未来合作夥伴公司的名称,您是否还有信心与他们合作?或许您不会因此动摇信心,但根据我们的经验,很多访客只会短暂停留在名称指示牌前,然後就一声不响地离开。 公司指示牌不仅助您建立公司形象,反映您提供的服务和产品。尤其如果您是外国企业家,人们还未了解您的品牌,公司指示牌反而会令他们有多点信心。 设立指示牌代表您有使用本地注册地址的绝对权利,而我们大部份服务式办公室或虚拟办公室的客户都已经设立指示牌。

 

充分利用其实际功能

当您向政府部门或金融机构提交申请时,他们会要求您提供一个注册公司的通讯地址,以证明您的企业位於香港。 因此,当申请商业许可申请丶香港工作签证和银行开户时,您的公司名称指示牌将成为申请的有力证明。

联邦快递曾在一项调查中发现,在运送包裹或产品时,如果入口处没有设置公司指示牌,可能会令送货员疑惑甚至离开,以致最终无法确定产品是否已送达正确地址。因此,注册一个公司指示牌不仅为了维护公司形象,也符合基本和实用用途,例如准确有效地发送及接收商业文件。一个放置於入口处的正式公司指示牌,可让人迅即找到公司位置。

使用协桥的虚拟办公室服务可以港币1,800元享用一年公司名称指示牌服务,即每月只需港币150元(21美元),就可让您进驻香港商业中心区的尊尚位置!

在此注册。

阅读全部
虚拟公司服务计划 有疑问?
关闭 展开