Have you ever thought about how a Company Signage could enhance your business image? Or did you know directory signage could help facilitate your official business applications to the government authorities? After reading this blog, you may just be surprised at how this simple tool does great things for your business!
 

 

Strengthen Company Image

Company signage sets at the entrance of a premier business centre or building in HK could be one of the keys to outrun your competitor. Imagine if you want to acquire a service, when you arrive the building there is nowhere showing where the office is, you will probably turn away, and a business opportunity is slipped away.

Or if you are about to engage in business with another start-up company, they gave you an address so you went up for a visit and tried to look into the directory signage, but the company name is nowhere to be seen. Doesn't it look undependable? In the past years we have seen many visitors stand in front of the directory signage board for a while and they left without a word. Not only does company signage present your services and products, but also helps customers to decide what you are providing is for them or not, especially if you are a foreign entrepreneur and people are new to your name. It is also a guiding tool for your business to people.

 

Leverage Practical Functionality

When submitting applications to government departments or financial institutions, they always require a registered corporate correspondence address that proves your business presence in HK. Thus, your company directory signage will serve as a good proof in such applications like business license application, HK working visa application, bank account opening, etc.

A survey from FedEx once found during parcels or products delivery, people may get confused or even returned from the location when the company signage is omitted at the entrance, and eventually it cannot be sure whether the products are delivered to the right address. Therefore the reason why people registered for company signage is not for maintaining their company image only but also trying to serve the basic and practical purposes such as ensuring they can send out as well as receive their business materials accurately and efficiently. A proper company signage at the entrance can easily project a good presence to represent the company and people are then able to locate it quickly.

At BRIDGES, you can get your company directory signage at our office for HK$1,800 per annum, which means it’s just HK$150 (US$21) per month only!

Read All
VIRTUAL OFFICE PACKAGE HAVE A QUESTION?
Read All

Trademark is important. Even the Romans used a ™ for their swords thousands of years ago.

Getting a trademark for your business is definitely a smart move because the business name or appearance of your product is a valuable asset. Let us explain what a trademark can do for your company and the tips of the trademark application in HK. Ready to safeguard your names / products that could be the swords of your company?
 

 

What Can Trademark Do for You?

Trademark, the mark “™” is usually used for distinguishing products and services of a particular company / an individual owner from those of others in the market.

Yet, bear in mind that the HK Companies Registry and HK Trade Marks Registry are 2 different authorities. Some of our clients get confused with these two departments, but having the company registered does not mean it would automatically register for your trademark or you will be entitled to any trademark rights.

In other words, if you would like to enjoy the exclusive right to use your company’s name or logo, it is inevitable to get a trademark, by which you can use it in relation to the products / services / inventions of yours and it will save you a lot of hassles when your products or services provision get more popular in time. In fact, some clients might come late (they just ignored this part from the start and suddenly remembered after a couple of years of the incorporation), then found out their business / product name has already been taken by others in their preferred category (i.e. a class of trademark, like machine tools; cooking; telecommunications; etc.) and so they couldn’t register in that category now. Because some businesses may have ignored the importance of trademark and eventually suffered from the plagiarising behaviour at the end, realising they should have taken this step earlier. 

Talking about the exclusive trademark right, many people mix up “™” and  “®”. Generally, the “™” symbol can be used whether the trademark is registered or not.  But the “®” symbol means this trademark is a registered one, and you are entitled to the exclusive trademark right provided by the Trade Marks Registry. In other words, by obtaining this right, your company can then apply the “®” symbol next to your company’s name or logo as an identification. You can take legal actions against any parties that violate the trademark law, such as using your trademark without your consent / agreement, to prevent anyone to take your trademark’s benefits (could be company name, products, inventions, ideas, etc).

 

Be the First-Mover in Your Market

Moreover, having a trademark can also be a first-mover advantage for your company, you can easily dominate the market if you have a newly-invented product or service. Any newcomers would then be hard to get an identical trademark anytime soon. In essence, it gives you a chance to become the market leader if you act quickly with the trademark registration.

According to our 18 years of experience, if a HK company owns a registered trademark, it will be a lot easier to cooperate with her mainland China partners because those Chinese companies tend to believe you are a reputable company and they are willing to pay extra for your products / services, which makes the whole trademark registration very worthwhile as it just costs you less than HK$100 per month for owning the 10-year trademark right.

 

Easy-to-Prepare Materials for Registration

Before kicking off the registration, you just have to provide :

  • The trademark you would like to register graphically
     
  • What products / services will be covered by this trademark? (i.e. baby foods, hygienic and beauty care, etc.)
     
  • Would you like an official search / non-official search first? (to ensure your trademark is available for registration)
     
  • Information of the trademark’s owner

 

5 Steps for HK Trademark Registration

Trademark registration sounds complicated yet it is not as hard as you thought. Our experienced advisor will guide you step by step throughout the whole process, whether you are a local or overseas firm. Here we’ll give you some ideas :

1. File the Application

Gather all necessary information of your product / creations / services and we will assist you in submitting the application. In general, the application procedure can take as little as 6 months.

2. Deficiencies Checking

The Trade Marks Registry will conduct a thorough check on the application and provided documents. The authority will get in touch with us if further information is required.

3. Search and Examination

The Trade Marks Registry will then perform a proper search to see if any identical or similar trademark has already been registered. The authority will also review and see if the submitted trademark is proper and fits the Trademark Ordinance’s requirements.

4. Objections (possible to occur)

If the requirements are not met, the Trade Marks Registry has the authority to object to the application. Yet, applicants are granted 6 months for amendments in order to meet the requirements.

5. Registration

Once your trademark has been accepted for registration, it will be published in the Hong Kong Intellectual Property Journal. If no opposition by a 3rd party is made, the Trade Marks Registry will enter your trademark into the trademarks register and you will be issued with a certificate of registration, meanwhile, the notice of the registration will be published in the Journal too. As the owner of a registered trademark, your rights take effect from the filing date of the application, which allows you to use it for 10 years.

 

How to Make Your Trademark Stand Out?

- Be creative, emphasise the uniqueness of your trademark, for instance, in the food industry, using “MEAT FOOD” instead of “MEET FOOD” might be objected by the Trade Marks Registry since the chance of getting a similar trademark is massive.

- No description of the products in terms of quantity or quality like “100 Chicken Wings” or “Quality Chicken Wings”.

- No geographical name like “Milano Fashion”.

- Use your invented product name would be the best since as it would most likely be innovative.

 

If you are not sure whether you are having a trademark idea similar to others, shoot us an email at info@bridges.hk or call +852 2159 9666. Our on-site Trademark Team will help ease the application process and smoothen your journey.

Read All
HAVE A QUESTION? CHAT WITH US
Close Open

您可曾想过公司指示牌能提升您的企业形象?您又是否知道,一块名称指示牌有助加快您向政府部门申请正式商业牌照的进度?您读过这篇网志後,或会惊讶这麽简单的小工具竟对业务大有裨益!

 

提升公司形象

一个设置在香港尊尚商务中心,或大楼入口的公司指示牌可以是超越竞争对手的关键之一。 试想一下,如果您想获得某项服务,但当您来到该公司所在的大厦,却没有看到显示该公司位置的指示牌,您可能会转身离开,一个商机很可能就这样溜走。

另一种情况是,如果您打算与另一间初创公司进行业务合作,他们给了您一个地址,但当您前去造访并尝试查看名称指示牌时,却找不到这间未来合作夥伴公司的名称,您是否还有信心与他们合作?或许您不会因此动摇信心,但根据我们的经验,很多访客只会短暂停留在名称指示牌前,然後就一声不响地离开。 公司指示牌不仅助您建立公司形象,反映您提供的服务和产品。尤其如果您是外国企业家,人们还未了解您的品牌,公司指示牌反而会令他们有多点信心。 设立指示牌代表您有使用本地注册地址的绝对权利,而我们大部份服务式办公室或虚拟办公室的客户都已经设立指示牌。

 

充分利用其实际功能

当您向政府部门或金融机构提交申请时,他们会要求您提供一个注册公司的通讯地址,以证明您的企业位於香港。 因此,当申请商业许可申请丶香港工作签证和银行开户时,您的公司名称指示牌将成为申请的有力证明。

联邦快递曾在一项调查中发现,在运送包裹或产品时,如果入口处没有设置公司指示牌,可能会令送货员疑惑甚至离开,以致最终无法确定产品是否已送达正确地址。因此,注册一个公司指示牌不仅为了维护公司形象,也符合基本和实用用途,例如准确有效地发送及接收商业文件。一个放置於入口处的正式公司指示牌,可让人迅即找到公司位置。

使用协桥的虚拟办公室服务可以港币1,800元享用一年公司名称指示牌服务,即每月只需港币150元(21美元),就可让您进驻香港商业中心区的尊尚位置!

在此注册。

阅读全部
虚拟公司服务计划 有疑问?
阅读全部

商标的重要性源远流长。您知道史上第一个商标™是用於罗马人的宝剑上吗?

为您的企业名称或您的产品外观登记商标,您保护最宝贵的资产之一。让我们解释商标的作用,以及在香港申请商标的流程和小贴士。为您保护公司名称/产品,使它成为有助公司发展的宝剑做好预备。

 

商标有甚麽用途?

市场上有众多品牌,商标的「™」标志通常用於区分一间特定公司/一位独立拥有人。

不过,请紧记香港公司注册处及香港商标注册处是两间不同的机构。有些客户时常把这两个部门混为一谈,因此我经常提醒他们,完成了公司注册程序并不代表自动注册了商标,也不代表您享有任何商标权。

换言之,如果您希望享有贵公司名称或标志的专用权,并应用於您的产品/服务/发明上,您就必须取得商标,将来您的产品或服务更受欢迎时,这个程序可为您省却很多麻烦。事实上,有些客户来谘询我们时已经错失先机(他们在创业初期忽略了此程序,在公司成立数年後突然如梦初醒),发现其业务/产品已遭他人注册了其首选类别(即机械工具丶烹饪丶电讯等一类商标),以致他们无法注册该类别。不少企业受他人的侵权行为影响後,才明白本该及早完成此程序。

谈到专用商标,很多人会混淆「™」和「®」。一般来说,无论企业是否已注册商标,均可使用「™」标志。相反地,®」标志却代表此商标已经注册,而您可享有由商标注册处授予的专用商标权。 换言之,当您获取这个权利後,即可在您的公司名称或标志後加上「®」标志。假如有人在未经您同意下挪用您的商标,您可对任何违反商标法的人采取法律行动,防止任何人试图从您的商标获得任何好处(包括公司名称丶产品丶发明丶理念等)。

在市场中早着先机

此外,申请商标也可赋予您的企业早着先机之利。如果您有新发明的产品或服务,申请商标後便可轻易主导市场。 其他後来者难以在短时间内获得相同商标。 简而言之,只要您的行动迅速,注册商标让您有机会成为市场领导者。

接下来,我们将与您分享一些最新趋势。根据我们的经验,如果一间香港公司拥有注册商标,将更易与中国内地的公司合作,因为注册商标会使中国公司对您留下可靠和信誉良好的印象,而且促使他们愿意为您的产品/服务付出较高金额。因为为期10年的商标权每月仅需付出港币100元以下,如此一来,注册商标实在非常划算。

 

轻松准备注册资料

开始注册前,請向我们提供以下资料:

• 您希望注册的图形商标

• 此商标覆盖甚麽产品/服务?(即婴儿食品丶卫生和美容护理等商标类别。)

• 您希望先进行官方检索/非官方检索吗?(此检索能确保您的商标可供注册)

• 商标拥有人的资料

 

香港商标注册的5个步骤

无论您拥有本地还是海外公司,我们经验丰富的顾问会在整个过程中提供协助。以下是申=申请几个步骤 : 

1. 提交申请

收集所有关於您的产品/创作/服务的所需资料,我们将协助您提交申请。整个申请过程一般快至6个月便可完成。

2. 检查遗漏

商标注册处将彻底检查申请表和所提供的文件。如需要进一步资料,注册处会与我们联络。

3. 检索及审查

商标注册处会进行正式检索,检查是否已有相同或相似的商标已被注册。注册处亦会审查所提交的商标是否适当,并符合「商标条例」的要求。

4. 拒绝申请(视乎情况)

如不符合任何要求,商标注册处有权拒绝该申请。然而,申请人将获6个月时间来进行修改,以达致要求。

5. 注册

您的商标获接纳注册後,将刊登在香港知识产权公报。若没有第三方提出反对,商标注册处将为您注册商标,而您将获发注册证明,该注册通知同时也会刊登在公报中。作为注册商标的拥有人,您的权利将从申请日起生效,有效期为10年。

 

如何使您的商标突围而出?

- 发挥创意,构思商标的独特之处, 例如在饮食行业,如果您使用「MEAT FOOD」而非「MEET FOOD」,商标注册处将很有可能拒绝您的申请,因为已有大量的相似商标。

- 商标不能包括有关产品数量或质素的描述,如「100 Chicken Wings」或「Quality Chicken Wings」。

- 商标不能包括地理名称,如「Milano Fashion」。

- 最好使用您发明的产品名称,因为此名称应该包含最创新的点子。

如您不确定您的商标是否与现有商标相似,欢迎透过info@bridges.hk或+852 2159 9666和我们的商标团队联络。助您完成整个程序,并让您的商标申请之旅更顺利。

阅读全部
有疑问? 与我们对话
关闭 展开